biotech
Bio-AnalystSupplement research
person

Vitamin D

Selected research topic

Glucose and metabolic health

Some measured outcomes improved in human comparison studies. Read these findings with their populations and conditions.

Some findings concern patients or people with a deficiency.

Publications for this topic
6
Human comparison publications
1
Publications needing review
4

Findings in the studies

  • Outcome needs clarification

    About this measure

    Original outcome name: WT

    • Comparison result:A better result than the comparison group was reported.
      Patient group · Single ingredient · 6 weeks
      Measurement and study conditions
      • Other evidence
      • Clinical trial
      • Single ingredient
      • Patient group
      • Secondary outcome
      • Between-group comparison
      • Timepoint: 6 weeks
      • Study comparison: vitamin D supplementation versus placebo
  • Rate of progression toward diabetes

    Other human research, including observational studies and reviews
    • A change was reported, but the comparison could not be confirmed.
      Deficiency group · Single ingredient
      Measurement and study conditions
      • Controlled human study
      • Randomized trial
      • Single ingredient
      • Deficiency group
      • Outcome role not specified
      • Timepoint: unspecified
      • Study comparison: unspecified
  • HOMA-IR

    Research with unclear study subject or type
    • A change was reported, but the comparison could not be confirmed.
      Patient group · Single ingredient · varied across included studies
      Measurement and study conditions
      • Meta-analysis
      • Meta-analysis
      • Single ingredient
      • Patient group
      • Biomarker
      • Study subject not identified
      • Timepoint: varied across included studies
      • Study comparison: Pooled population-intervention estimate; comparator not specified in abstract

This result is held for interpretation. That does not mean research found no effect.

Outcome groups needing additional review (1)
  • Insulin sensitivity · Distinct papers needing additional review: 1Evidence criteria check: 1

One paper can appear under multiple measured outcomes or review reasons, so these counts should not be added together.

Representative outcome and study details

Studies with an unspecified organism reported a change with no confirmed comparison group in HOMA-IR.

Single-ingredient studies · Includes patient groups · comparator not confirmed

1 publications linked to this result

  • Route, form, dose, or population details are incomplete, so the findings cannot be confirmed as directly comparable.
Data coverage and detailed study classifications

Paper counts are separated by research topic below. One paper may contribute to multiple findings.

Analysis status: Public-ready

Ingredient analysis date:

How the grade was determined: C

The 49.3 evidence score includes 2 independent human studies and 2 clinical studies in the representative benefit area. The C tier remains conservative because of the evidence centers on contextual or measured outcomes rather than general-use effects, limited repetition across independent human clinical studies.

The grade is based mainly on the research area with the most evidence. It does not mean the same result was found in other areas.

Papers linked to this ingredient overall: 126

Papers linked to this topic 6 · distinct papers 6 · papers with a confirmed human comparison 1 · papers needing additional review 4

A publication may appear in more than one count. These numbers should not be added. Ingredient-wide papers, topic-linked papers, and sources in outcome groups use different scopes. Adding source counts may count the same paper more than once.

  • HOMA-IR: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • Insulin sensitivity: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • Rate of progression toward diabetes: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • WT: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 1

What the research found

WT

The study reported improvement in this measurement.

Other evidence · Single ingredient · Patient group

Between-group comparison

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

HOMA-IR

A change was reported, but the comparison could not be confirmed.

Meta-analysis · Single ingredient · Patient group

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Review overlap with primary papers is unknown; counts stay separate.

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

Rate of progression toward diabetes

A change was reported, but the comparison could not be confirmed.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Deficiency group

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

Insulin sensitivity

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Review · Single ingredient · Unspecified population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Review overlap with primary papers is unknown; counts stay separate.

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

Unspecified measured outcome

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Patient group

Between-group comparison

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

Unspecified measured outcome

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Unspecified population

Between-group comparison

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

Unspecified measured outcome

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Unspecified population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

How to read research findings

How should I read research findings?

Research guides

Side effects and combination findings

Findings from this ingredient alone are shown separately from those involving another supplement or medication.

No reviewed caution rules are available yet. Reported caution findings are shown below.

Review 3 combination findings and 0 findings that outperformed an ingredient alone.

Findings to review with care

Side effects reported for the ingredient alone are separated from findings involving another supplement or medication.

Side effects reported with this ingredient alone

Symptoms or adverse events reported in studies without another active ingredient.

adverse reactions (e.g., hypercalciuria, hypervitaminosis D, kidney stones, gastrointestinal symptoms, mild itch)1 papers
Six studies reported adverse reactions potentially attributable to vitamin D, occurring across treatment and control arms.Human studies · Meta-analysis

Reported improvements with combinations

Combination findings are grouped by how the study compared them. This is not a recommendation to combine ingredients.

Combinations with reported improvement

The combination showed improvement, but each ingredient's contribution is unclear.

오메가-3Combined vitamin D and omega-3 fatty acids showed a 31% reduction in autoimmune disease incidence compared to placebo, suggesting a potential additive effect.
BCAACombination with Vitamin D significantly improved appendicular skeletal muscle mass/height2 compared to control.
마그네슘Co-supplementation with Vitamin D and Magnesium resulted in significant improvements in behavioral function and mental health scores compared to placebo.