biotech
Bio-AnalystSupplement research
person
arrow_backExplore/L-Carnitine

L-Carnitine

Selected research topic

Glucose and metabolic health

Some measured outcomes improved in human comparison studies. Read these findings with their populations and conditions.

Some findings concern patients or people with a deficiency.

Publications for this topic
7
Human comparison publications
1
Publications needing review
4

Findings in the studies

  • Insulin resistance

    • A better result than the comparison group was reported.

      What the comparison group used was not confirmed.

      Patient group · Single ingredient
      Measurement and study conditions
      Study type
      Randomized controlled trial: subjects were randomly assigned to groups for comparison.
      Study population
      Human participants · Patient group
      Ingredients tested
      Single ingredient
      How results were compared
      Results were compared between groups.
      Measurement time
      Not confirmed.
  • FBG

    Research with unclear study subject or type
    • A change was reported, but the comparison could not be confirmed.
      Single ingredient
      Measurement and study conditions
      Study type
      Meta-analysis
      Study population
      Recorded population category: General population. Whether the research involved humans needs confirmation.
      Ingredients tested
      Single ingredient
      How results were compared
      Study comparison: Pooled meta-analysis estimate for fasting blood glucose; comparator details are not stated in the ab
      Additional measurement information
      Biomarker
      Measurement time
      Not confirmed.
  • FPG

    Research with unclear study subject or type
    • A change was reported, but the comparison could not be confirmed.
      Single ingredient
      Measurement and study conditions
      Study type
      Meta-analysis
      Study population
      Recorded population category: Patient group. Whether the research involved humans needs confirmation.
      Ingredients tested
      Single ingredient
      How results were compared
      Study comparison: model-estimated Emax and ET50; direct comparator not reported
      Additional measurement information
      Primary outcome
      Measurement time
      model-estimated duration to half-maximal effect 36.1 weeks
  • HbA1c

    Research with unclear study subject or type
    • A change was reported, but the comparison could not be confirmed.
      Single ingredient
      Measurement and study conditions
      Study type
      Meta-analysis
      Study population
      Recorded population category: Patient group. Whether the research involved humans needs confirmation.
      Ingredients tested
      Single ingredient
      How results were compared
      Study comparison: model-estimated Emax and ET50; direct comparator not reported
      Additional measurement information
      Primary outcome
      Measurement time
      model-estimated duration to half-maximal effect 106 weeks

This result is held for interpretation. That does not mean research found no effect.

Outcome groups needing additional review (2)
  • average daily weight gain · Distinct papers needing additional review: 1Interpretation held: 1
  • rate of weight gain · Distinct papers needing additional review: 1Direction unclear: 1

One paper can appear under multiple measured outcomes or review reasons, so these counts should not be added together.

Representative outcome and study details

Studies with an unspecified organism reported a change with no confirmed comparison group in FBG.

Single-ingredient studies · comparator not confirmed

1 publications linked to this result

  • Route, form, dose, or population details are incomplete, so the findings cannot be confirmed as directly comparable.
Data coverage and detailed study classifications

Paper counts are separated by research topic below. One paper may contribute to multiple findings.

Analysis status: Public-ready

Ingredient analysis date:

How the grade was determined: C

The 44.0 evidence score includes 1 independent human studies and 1 clinical studies in the representative benefit area. The C tier remains conservative because of limited repetition across independent human clinical studies, too few clinical findings with an explicit effect direction.

The grade is based mainly on the research area with the most evidence. It does not mean the same result was found in other areas.

Papers linked to this ingredient overall: 68

Papers linked to this topic 7 · distinct papers 7 · papers with a confirmed human comparison 1 · papers needing additional review 4

A publication may appear in more than one count. These numbers should not be added. Ingredient-wide papers, topic-linked papers, and sources in outcome groups use different scopes. Adding source counts may count the same paper more than once.

  • average daily weight gain: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • FBG: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • FPG: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • HbA1c: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0
  • Insulin resistance: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 1
  • rate of weight gain: Sources represented in this measurement group: 1 · Distinct papers with human comparisons for this outcome: 0

What the research found

Insulin resistance

The study reported improvement in this measurement.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Patient group

Between-group comparison

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

FBG

A change was reported, but the comparison could not be confirmed.

Meta-analysis · Single ingredient · General population

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Review overlap with primary papers is unknown; counts stay separate.

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

FPG

A change was reported, but the comparison could not be confirmed.

Meta-analysis · Single ingredient · Patient group

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Review overlap with primary papers is unknown; counts stay separate.

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

HbA1c

A change was reported, but the comparison could not be confirmed.

Meta-analysis · Single ingredient · Patient group

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

Review overlap with primary papers is unknown; counts stay separate.

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

average daily weight gain

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Unspecified population

Between-group comparison

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

rate of weight gain

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Other evidence · Single ingredient · Patient group

Between-group comparison

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

Unspecified measured outcome

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Controlled study in people · Single ingredient · Patient group

Between-group comparison

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

Unspecified measured outcome

The study needs further checking before its result can be interpreted.

Controlled human study · Unknown intervention · Unspecified population

The comparison could not be confirmed.

Analysis coverage and paper counts

1 paper · 1 measured outcome

1 papers held from direction counts

Direction counts are distinct papers within each row. Outcome contributions count endpoint results, so one paper may contribute more than once.

How to read research findings

How should I read research findings?

Research guides

Side effects and combination findings

Findings from this ingredient alone are shown separately from those involving another supplement or medication.

No combination cautions are available to show in the current data. This does not guarantee safety.

Review 1 combination findings and 0 findings that outperformed an ingredient alone.

Reported improvements with combinations

Combination findings are grouped by how the study compared them. This is not a recommendation to combine ingredients.

Combinations with reported improvement

The combination showed improvement, but each ingredient's contribution is unclear.

alpha-linolenic acidCo-supplementation with alpha-linolenic acid (1000 mg) and L-carnitine (500 mg) demonstrated significant improvements in migraine symptoms and mental health parameters compared to placebo.